I had only heard of the Milwaukee Neighborhood News Service (MNNS) from my digital journalism professor Herbert Lowe's blog and twitter (@herbertlowe). He seemed to be a fan of the organization, but I had never took the time to study the MNNS site.

Marissa Evans, a junior journalism major in the Diederich College of Communication, recently covered the October Occupy Milwaukee rally for MNNS. She tweeted (@marissaaevans) during the event, and when my class was assigned to blog about this news service I searched for her work.

Evans did not get the byline, but her photo showed up on this professional website. I was excited to do work for them once I saw that she was published.

I found one story from September on a march to end gun violence completely covered by Evans. She took photos and wrote the story. She did the full package.

The site is easy to navigate and up to date. Different communities and neighborhoods such as Clarke Square are featured on a sidebar for added interaction. It is very user-friendly.

I was pleasantly surprised by what I found, but confused as to why I did not know more about this news service before this blog.

Appreciate your details

Reply
1/28/2012 12:30:30 pm

will return quickly

Reply
3/21/2012 06:42:41 am

Nice one info, thanks

Reply
3/27/2012 05:05:08 pm

Nice info dude

Reply
3/31/2012 01:42:52 pm

Nice one info, thanks

Reply
5/14/2012 01:37:35 am

Many thanks for info

Reply
7/14/2012 07:38:33 pm

Yeah bookmaking this wasn�t a bad conclusion excellent post! .

Reply
7/17/2012 12:47:37 pm

truly great post, i definitely love this site, maintain on it

Reply



Leave a Reply.