I put my photojournalist skills to the test by capturing Jillian Ogren at work as a desk receptionist for my Digital Journalism class project.

Ogren is a character. She is bubbly and animated – qualities which I knew would make her a great subject for this project.

After studying The Poynter Institute's NewsU course Language of the Image, I tried to use multiple photo elements in my slide show.

By taking a photo of the desk from the lobby entrance, I gained a sense of place to let my viewers know the set-up and layout of the lobby.

Ogren never stopped smiling. Her animated expressions allowed me to easily capture her emotions of joy, laughter and surprise.

When Rashaad Lay, a resident assistant, joined Ogren behind the desk, I used juxtaposition to make the shot more interesting.

I attempted to use Ogren's eyes and smile as points of entry for many of the photos.

I used specific moments of interaction to capture the expressions on each subject's face, much like I did in the shot were Lizzy Owens presents Ogren with a batch of cupcakes.

I believes the entire slide show functions as a personality portrait of Ogren.




Leave a Reply.